2022 Board of Directors Slate

The Irrigation Association has announces the slate of candidates for the 2022 Board of of Directors election. Earlier this year, the IA accepted nominations for 2022-2025 positions on the Board. Directors are elected to three-year terms, and they work to establish the association’s strategic direction, policies and programs. Designated member contacts will receive an official ballot via email to cast their vote. The following three individuals are included on the 2022 slate.

Steve Counter

Steve Counter is currently the vice president of category management at SiteOne Landscape Supply (Roswell, Georgia). Prior to joining SiteOne, he spent over 17 years working for Stanley/Black and Decker working in multiple field and corporate roles of increased responsibility, including leading their North American Grainger business for all brands. He also worked for Rain Bird and led their southeast contractor team. His responsibilities at SiteOne include managing the irrigation, lighting and drainage businesses from a category management perspective and leading the training team for those three brands. Counter was involved with the IA Expo Advisory Committee from 2016 to 2018.

“I believe irrigation and related products play a critical role in many livelihoods and our collective experience as Americans. If done correctly, we can add tremendous value to all levels of society. We also have a distinct responsibility to be advocates for smarter installation and overall irrigation techniques which supports water conservation. The IA, in my opinion, is in a unique position to provide educational content to the industry, updates on industry trends/innovation, and help support local, state and federal legislation we feel provides value. Based on my background and experiences, I feel I can positively impact these efforts.”

Steve Hohl

Steve Hohl is the principal for Water Concern Ltd. (Rancho Santa Margarita, California). He graduated from Cal Poly Pomona with a degree in irrigation science 30 years ago. Hohl worked at a landscape architecture firm providing irrigation design for 10 years before starting Water Concern. Over the past 20 years, his firm has provided irrigation design and water management services in the Southwest market with an emphasis on master-planned community development, resort facilities, business campuses, parks and commercial landscapes. Hohl served on the American Society of Irrigation Consultants Board of Directors for over 20 years, with 12 years on the Executive Board. He currently sits on the ASIC’s certification, membership, National Collegiate Landscape Competition and conference committees.

“I believe in strengthening the relationship between design professionals and consultants with the manufacturing, distribution and contracting sectors within the IA to promote common purpose and value in the green industry.”

James C. Reid Jr.

James C. Reid Jr., CID, CAIS, CTA, is the president of Reid Brothers Irrigation and Equipment Co. LLC (Americus, Georgia). Reid started his career in 1977 when he became the president of Reid Bros. Farming Company. He and his brother William were the third generation to farm the same land in Sumter County, Georgia. The farm started with 70 acres and grew to 3,300 acres producing corn, cotton, peanuts, green beans, wheat and timber. In 2003, the two brothers purchased Garland Mears Irrigation and established Reid Bros. Irrigation and Equipment Co. LLC, a full-service agricultural irrigation dealership. Reid’s involvement with the IA includes serving as a member and former chair of the Certification Board.

“I am extremely honored to be considered to serve as a member of the Irrigation Association Board of Directors. I welcome the opportunity to serve an association dedicated to the efficient and wise use of our nation’s scarce resources in the production of food, fiber and landscape beautification.”

The results of the 2022 IA Board of Directors election will be announced in August. Questions regarding this slate or the Board of Directors election process can be directed to Janine Sparrowgrove  (703.536.7080).